Charter Commission

At the November 8, 2022 election, voters approved the creation of a Charter Commission and elected six residents to serve on this Commission.  The Select Board will appoint an additional three members at their meeting on December 6, 2022.

View detailed procedures for Charter Commission


The Commission’s charge is to recommend revisions to the Town Charter. The current Charter can be viewed at

In general, a town's charter specifies the town's form of government, the distribution of legislative, executive and other powers, and it delegates various legal and administrative functions as well as the procedures for making and implementing budgetary decisions.

Currently, under Kennebunk's Charter the Town operates under the Town Meeting/Select Board/Administrator form of government with the Town Manager as the chief administrative official, the Select Board as the executive and administrative powers, and the town meeting as the legislative body.

Charter Commission

Name Title
Christopher W. Babbidge Member
Christian L. Babcock Member
Susan A. Bloomfield Member
Brenda S. Robinson Member
Stephen M. Sayers Member
Edward S. Trainer Member
To be appointed Member
To be appointed Member
To be appointed Member

Join a Committee

  1. Do you want to volunteer for the Town and serve on a board or committee? Complete an application online or submit your paper application (PDF) to the Town Manager's office.
    View a listing of all committees