Burn permits are issued from 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday and 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. on Saturday and Sunday at Kennebunk Fire Rescue in the front lobby. Please call 207-604-1354 for Class Day or the Maine Forestry Service.
No more than fifteen  permits shall be issued daily, Monday through Friday. On Saturdays, Sundays and holidays the number of permits issued may be increased by the Duty Chief, weather and staff levels permitting, and will be issued by either a firefighter or the Duty Chief.
Burning may not start until after 9:00 a.m. and must be finished by 11:00 p.m.
Seasonal permits for cooking fires are available. Seasonal campfires will require the permit holder to check on the class day before burning. Burning will be permitted on Class 1 or 2 days only. Please call the Duty Officer at (207) 604-1355 to obtain one of these permits.
Online permits may be obtained through the Maine Burn Permit System for a fee. The permit holder must still contact the Kennebunk Fire Department after 9:00 a.m. to verify the Class Day and if he/she wishes to burn outside the guidelines of the online permit. These permits will not be issued on a Class 3, 4, or 5 day.
All burn permits are for clean wood products only, and piles are to be kept small (i.e., 3’ diameter piles). Burning of highly combustible materials and/or domestic, household trash such as paper and cardboard is prohibited by law.
These permit policies are recommended standards, suggested by the Maine Forest Service. These policies are in place to protect life and property and help the Fire Department in controlling the possibility of fires getting out of control. If you have any questions concerning these policies, please feel free to contact the Fire Department.